JLT One-Day Cup Tips & Predictions, Live Streaming, Schedule & Squads

The Australian domestic one-day competition is currently played under the avatar of the JTL One-Day Cup (earlier called the Matador BBQs One-Day Cup), and the 2018-19 season will be its 49th season since domestic one-day tournaments began in Australia. Get all the latest JLT One-Day Cup Betting Tips & Predictions for this upcoming season here.

The JLT One-Day Cup or the Matador BBQ Cup as it was earlier called is an A list domestic cricket competition played out in Australia and organised by Cricket Australia.

It is usually held over a three-week period at the start of the domestic season in the country. It is one of the most unique competitions because it will be aired in Australia on Foxtel for 13 of the 20 matches. If you are outside Australia, you can watch this tournament live on cricket.com.au and the CA Live App.

2018-19 JLT One-Day Cup Format

The six state sides in the competition, Queensland, Victoria, New South Wales, South Australia, Tasmania and Western Australia will face off, with each side playing every other team once. At the end of the league stage of the tournament, the top two sides will get a direct entry into the semi-finals while the teams placed third to sixth will face off in quarter-finals – third plays sixth, fourth plays fifth – and the winners of those games will then make it to the semi-finals.

JLT One-Day Cup Squads:

Queensland: Chris Lynn (c), Max Bryant, Xavier Bartlett, Luke Feldman, Joe Burns, Charlie Hemphrey, Sam Heazlett, Jack Prestwidge, Lachlan Pfeffer, Mark Steketee, Billy Stanlake, Sam Truloff, Mitch Swepson, Jack Wildermuth.

New South Wales: Peter Nevill (c), Harry Conway, Sean Abbott, Jack Edwards, Trent Copeland, Ryan Gibson, Mickey Edwards, Daniel Hughes, Moises Henriques, Stephen O’Keefe, Nick Larkin, Daniel Sams, Kurtis Patterson, Jason Sangha

South Australia: Jake Lehmann (c), Tom Cooper, Alex Carey, Spencer Johnson, Callum Ferguson, Harry Nielsen, Joe Mennie, Alex Ross, Kane Richardson, Cameron Valente, Chadd Sayers, Daniel Worrall, Jake Weatherald, Adam Zampa

Tasmania: George Bailey (c), Nicholas Buchanan, Jackson Bird, James Faulkner, Jake Doran, Riley Meredith, Ben McDermott, Tom Rogers, Simon Milenko, Jordan Silk, Clive Rose, Matthew Wade, Aaron Summers, Beau Webster

Victoria: Peter Handscomb (c), Jackson Coleman, Scott Boland, Sebastian Gotch, Travis Dean, Mackenzie Harvey, Marcus Harris, Glenn Maxwell, Nic Maddinson, Matt Short, Tom O’Connell, Chris Tremain, Will Sutherland, Cameron White

Western Australia: Ashton Turner (c), Hilton Cartwright, Ashton Agar, Cameron Green, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Matt Kelly, Josh Inglis, Josh Philippe, Joel Paris, D’Arcy Short, Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye, Marcus Stoinis, Jonathan Wells

The proud history of the cup stretches back to the 1969-70 season, a lineage of over 45 seasons of continued gamesmanship. The tournament is going to be contested between teams representing the six states of Australia, There is also a Cricket Australia XI that has participated in the tourney since 2015/16.

The format of the tournament is such that the teams play 8 league round games followed by ranking by points gathered during those games, after which we have the Preliminary final and then the final. The six permanent teams are New South Wales Blues, Queensland Bulls, Southern Redbacks, Tasmanian Tigers, Victorian Bushrangers and Western Warriors.

The New South Wales Blues are the current champions of the cup, having defeated the Queensland Bulls in the 2016-17 final thanks to the heroics of Moises Henriques with the bat and Michael Neser with the ball.

Henriques scored a match winning knock of 85 runs in 103 balls while Neser took a crucial three wickets in nine overs while giving away just 20 runs.

Historically the tournament has had great players taking away the PLayer of the tournament award such as Matthew Hayden consecutively in 1998-99 and 1999-2000 and Darren Lehmann in the next two years.

The tournament has regularly produced a shower of talent that has gone on to serve Australian Cricket very well indeed, and last year’s Marnus Labuschagne will be looking to do just the same. This season could prove to be a turning point in the careers of a lot of such young men.

New South Wales and Western Australia are two of the cups most successful teams and their rivalries will be renewed once again this season when the competition kicks off in October this year.

Related News

Latest Free Sports Updates

Sign up to our newsletter and receive daily sports updates to your email!